Quick Answer: Boss Office Products (also sold as Norstar) doesn’t make one flagship chair — it makes seven different chairs this site has picked for seven different jobs, from a $83 shared-desk task chair (B6106) to a $220 armless daily driver (B1560) to guest, drafting, and kneeling models. The one thing every Boss listing shares is a 6-year warranty headline that only covers the frame — Boss’s own warranty document caps upholstery, foam, gas cylinders, wood, and controls at 18 months, which is the fine print worth reading before “6-year warranty” decides the purchase for you.

Search “Boss office chair” and you’ll find dozens of unrelated-looking products under the same brand name: a $65 stackable guest chair next to a $220 leather task chair next to a kneeling stool. That’s not inconsistent branding — Boss genuinely operates across task, guest, drafting, and specialty seating as separate product lines, each priced and built for a different job. This guide is the map: which Boss model this site has actually vetted for which use case, and the one thing about Boss’s warranty that every individual product page has mentioned in passing but none has spelled out in full.

Who actually makes Boss chairs

Boss Office Products — the name also appears as Norstar Office Products on the manufacturer’s own warranty paperwork — is headquartered in Commerce, California, with a second branch in Atlanta, Georgia. It’s a genuine commercial-furniture manufacturer and importer that has built task seating, drafting stools, executive leather chairs, and guest/reception furniture for decades, not a marketplace-only brand with no physical operation behind it. That matters for warranty service specifically: a claim goes to an actual manufacturer with a documented process, not a storefront that may not exist next year.

The warranty fine print none of the listings lead with

Every Boss product page — including several picks on this site — cites the brand’s “6-year limited warranty” as a headline selling point, and it’s real, but it’s narrower than it sounds. Boss’s own published warranty terms cover manufacturing defects in material and workmanship for 6 years from the original purchase date — for the frame. The components that actually wear out under daily use are carved into a separate, much shorter tier:

ComponentCoverage periodWhat's covered
Frame / general structure6 yearsManufacturing defects in material and workmanship
Upholstery and foam18 monthsUnusual wear or deterioration
Gas cylinders, wood components, controls18 monthsStructural failure or unusual wear
Electronics (massage chairs only)90 daysComponent failure

In other words, the part of the chair most likely to fail first — the gas cylinder that lets the seat sink over years of use — has the same 18-month window as the foam, not the 6-year window the marketing headline implies. The warranty also limits coverage to the original purchaser (non-transferable), assumes normal use at a standard 40-hour work week, and states a default weight assumption of 250 lb for typical models. That last point is worth cross-checking against the model you’re buying: several Boss chairs this site has reviewed carry a published capacity above that figure (the B990 at 350 lb, the B9519 and B6909 at 275 lb), which is the manufacturer’s current spec sheet, not a contradiction — but it’s a reminder that the warranty document itself was written around a lower baseline and heavier-rated models are the newer, revised spec.

None of this makes Boss a bad buy — 18 months of cylinder and foam coverage is standard for this price tier, not unusually thin — it’s simply not the “6 years, full stop” that a bare warranty-length claim on a listing page implies.

Which Boss chair fits which job

ModelBest forPriceCapacityFull review
B6106 Mesh Task ChairShared desks, classrooms, budget daily use~$83Not stated for heavy-duty useBest task chair guide
B1560 LeatherPlus ArmlessDedicated armless daily driver~$220275 lbArmless office chair guide
B990 Heavy DutySingle-user intensive/multi-shift use~$150-250350 lb24-hour office chair guide
B9519 LeatherPlus Sled BaseGuest / reception seating (no wheels)~$139-151275 lbNo-wheels office chair guide
B6909 Stackable MeshBudget conference / training rooms~$65-100275 lbConference room chair guide
B1617 Drafting ChairStanding desks, raised counters, drafting tables~$130Not statedDrafting chair guide
B248 Kneeling StoolCheapest way to test kneeling posture~$100Not statedKneeling chair guide

Boss Office Products B6106 Mesh Task Chair

Best overall starting point · ~$83 · pneumatic height · tilt tension
  • The chair to start with if you don't already know which category you need — a genuine commercial task chair, not a repurposed home-office reject, priced to be bought by the pallet for shared desks.
  • Covers the two controls that matter for shared or rotating seating (height, tilt tension) without the seat-depth and independent-arm adjustment a single full-time owner would want.
  • Full breakdown, including how it compares to the HON Volt and Alera Elusion at higher price points, is in our best task chair guide.
Check price on Amazon →

Outfitting more than one desk with the same model? A free Amazon Business account adds quantity-order pricing and tax-exempt purchasing on top of whatever discount the listing already carries — worth setting up before buying six of the same Boss chair for a shared floor.

Boss Office Products B990 Heavy Duty

Best for single-user intensive use · ~$150-250 · 350 lb rated
  • The pick if one person is putting real hours on the chair every day and wants durability margin above a standard task chair, without paying dispatch-center prices for a multi-shift, multi-user rating.
  • Full comparison against dedicated 24-hour/multi-shift chairs (which need a higher shared-use rating than a single owner does) is in our 24-hour office chair guide.

Where Boss doesn’t compete

Nothing in Boss’s current lineup — across any of the seven models above — offers the independently adjustable seat depth, multi-point dynamic lumbar, or 4D/5D armrests that define this site’s ergonomic-flagship tier (Steelcase Series 1/Gesture, Sihoo Doro C300, Hinomi H1 Pro). That’s not a knock on the brand; it’s a category difference. Boss builds task, guest, and specialty seating priced to be bought in volume or bought cheap, and every honest review of a Boss model on this site has framed it that way rather than pretending it’s an ergonomic-chair substitute. If you’re shopping at a Boss-adjacent budget but sitting 8+ hours a day, start with our best budget ergonomic office chair guide instead — a different product tier at a similar price.

The bottom line

There’s no single “Boss office chair” to recommend — there are seven, each solving a different job this site has already reviewed in depth. Start with the B6106 (roughly $83) if you just need a solid shared-desk chair, the B990 (roughly $150 to $250) if one person is putting real daily hours on it, the B9519 or B6909 (roughly $65 to $150) for guest and conference seating, the B1617 (roughly $130) for a standing-height counter, and the B248 (roughly $100) if you want to test kneeling posture before committing to a pricier stool. Whichever you land on, read the warranty as “6 years on the frame, 18 months on everything that actually wears out” — that’s the accurate version, not the headline one.

Last updated: September 11, 2026 — warranty terms verified directly against Boss/Norstar’s published warranty document.